Only Love

I’ve been listening to the same album on repeat for the past three days. Every song captures me perfectly. There is a sadness in her voice as she sings, but every lyric builds upon itself and you see so much hope and better fortune than what you’d expect. That’s a perfect capture of life.

Every day is a new hope, every disaster is new opportunity for something beautiful to come. I find when I write I see just how much hurt exist within my own life, but the beauty is in the reflection. We’ve all had setbacks, we’ve all had moments of discouragement, but it is how we handle ourselves through the rocky climb that shows our true worth as an individual. What we’ve become from it is worth more than what we could have ever imagined and that is beautiful.

So here is a piece from each song on the album, my favorite parts. I hope you read them, and I hope you sit in your own silence and listen to the entire album again and again.

Artist: Oh Wonder | Album: Oh Wonder

I’ve been depending on the overgrown
Too many lovers that I’ll never know
Counting my losses as I let them go
Heavy the water as I sink below

Now my soul beats a sound loud enough to quiet the thunder
A love with no doubt and now I’m never gonna slow down
Never gonna slow down

And I feel life for the very first time
Love in my arms and the sun in my eyes
I feel safe in the 5am light
You carry my fears as the heavens set fire

Sat back with the window down
Eighty an hour and the radio loud
The same songs with the same old rhymes
Tell me to shake it off and swing from the lights

Move your feet and feel it in the space between
You gotta give yourself a moment, let your body be
Make a spark, break the dark
Find a light with me
Who we are from the start
Won’t you dance with me?

So when you’re caught in a landslide
I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you
And in the rain, give you sunshine
I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you

I’m ready to hope, swing me out of the low
Wide awake in the glow, can’t do it alone
I’m ready to fly, uncover the light
Impossible heights

Step out into the sun
Skies above they radiate me
Lift up, carry the love
Do you know?

Watching waves at night I fell into the blue
I guess I lost the light, now I’ve given all my love to you

There’s a human in your heart of hearts
Hiding true colours made you fall apart
In the mirror you’re a work of art
But this is real life, real life

All I wanna be is whites in waves

You with the wide eyes, don’t lose your courage
You swing your head high and don’t be worried
Your heart’s in a free ride, feel it beating
Caught in the headlights, climb to the ceiling

I feel it falling from the skies above
Are you gonna be mine?
My wave, my shark, my demon in the dark
The blue tide pulling me under
Or are you my soul, my heart, pull everything apart?

Cause I need something more than everything
A higher self deep within
Cause I need something more than everything
A higher self, a higher self
And I know we need a little heart hope
I know we’ve gotta outgrow and feel a little heart hope
Cause there is something more than everything
So feel the love and let it in
Cause I know we need a little heart hope

We’ll be scraping the skies with out fingertips
Screaming “This is the life, we were born for this”
See I’ve got plans to get to you
You know, don’t you know

Leave a comment